Views
Helpful
Replies

Configuring Cisco 3750 with Comcast Business Gateway ISP

NickHerndon81
Level 1
Level 1

Hey Everybody!

Not sure if I am in the right place but I am new to the Cisco world and will be taking a company CCNA bootcamp here soon but in the meantime I need some configuring help for a buddys small business setup.  The issue is that he is getting rid of the Netgear home based switches which all of his current connected devices in the store are currently connected too and needs more ports.   What we need to do is to configure the Cisco 3750 I am assuming using dhcp so that we can use all of the ports on the switch to connect all of the i.e devices such as 2 POS systems, 2 credit card machines, 2 desktops, 1 lotto machine, and a samsung DVR cam system for the store.  All of these devices connect using dhcp and none of these devices need static IP addresses.  The current Setup now is the Comcast Business gateway, which has a wireless router connected to one of the ports on back of it, and then from both the wireless routers ports and the gateways ports devices are connected Cat5e.  We are Trying to just have connection to the switch provided by the ISP gateway so that we can connect all of the devices, and then have the wireless router , as just what it is, to provide wireless access for the store.

5 Replies 5

balaji.bandi
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

You can do the below steps and understand the steps before you implement :

1. right now your switch numbered as switch 3, if this is only switched then make it switch 1 as below command

config t

switch 3 renumber 1

!

end

wr

2. reload the switch - so you have switch 1 come back online with port start from 1.

3, as per understanding Comcast Router offers you DHCP and NAT.

4. Choose 1 of the port and connect to Comcast port, check the port come up/up

5. by default all ports belong to VLAN  1