Views
Helpful
Replies

connecting to sf302-80p via ssh-prevent prompt for password

juleedev
Level 1
Level 1

Hi there.

I'm wondering if anyone knows to set up the switch so that when I'm connecting via SSH, the switch doesn't prompt for a username if I supply one in the initial connect request?

For example, we usually connect by typing something like the following at a command prompt:

ssh johndoe@10.10.10.10

Then the switch would prompt for a password.

I've tried this on the Cisco SF302 but it still prompts for a username, and then the password.

Thanks for reading this post!

8 Replies 8

jonatrod
Level 7
Level 7

Good morning juleedev

Thanks for using our forum.

I am a Cisco network support engineer, in order to configure ssh in your switch follow this steps:

1. Create a user.

2. Create a hostname.

3. Create a domain-name.

4. Configure the Crypto key rsa.

5. Allow the input ssh in line vty configuration.

Then in your pc, use this cmd and type this command,

ssh -l

Also you can use other program instead of cmd, you can download and use '' putty '' is a free and open source terminal emulator application which can act as a client for the SSH, Telnet, rlogin, and raw TCP computing protocols and as a serial console client.

I hope you find this answer useful, if it was satisfactory  for you, please mark the question as Answered.

Please rate helpful posts.

Greetings,

Johnnatan Rodriguez Miranda.

Cisco network support engineer

“Please rate useful posts so other users can benefit from it” Greetings, Johnnatan Rodriguez Miranda. Cisco Network Support Engineer.

Hi there. Thanks for the response. I've been away for a little while which is why I didn't respond sooner.   In any case, one thing I forgot to mention is that we are trying to use a radius server for authentication.  so we are not using public keys.

Does that change the solution that you've posted above?  As a test, i just tried connecting using

ssh -l