Views
Helpful
Replies

Creating network with sr2024c switches

trini_tech
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I'm new to this fibre networking. I received two Cisco SR2024c switches. I want to connect two buildings via fibre. I would like to know if the "sr2024" unmanaged switches will work to send data from one building to another. I'd plan on connecting the fibre to the miniGBIC ports on the switches.

4 Replies 4

nimusell
Level 1
Level 1

Hi Pierre,

Welcome and thank you for participating in the Cisco Small Business support forum. My name is Nico Muselle from Cisco Sofia S-TAC.

As for your question, it is definitely a good option to interconnect those switches with fiber if the distance between the switches is more than 100 meter.

For an overview of the SFP modules that could be used :

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/hw/modules/ps4999/products_qanda_item09186a0080abed87.shtml

My advice would be to either use the MGBSX1 or MGBLX1 modules on both switches to have them connected at Gigabit speed.

Hope this helped.

Best regards,

Nico Muselle

Sr. Networkk Engineer - CCNA

Thanks for you response!

I have a miniGBIC 'card' connected to the miniGBIC1 on both cisco switches.  I've attached a PIC of the miniGBIC cards i've used/got.

Would i need to setup a server to get the data transfer and DHCP going, because when i connect my Macbook to a port on either end its self assigning an IP address?

Hello,

The SFP modules in the picture are not Cisco Small Business modules from the list I sent you, therefor, it is not sure whether they will work or not. You can verify this of course by checking whether the led lights come up  when you connect your fibre cable.

A DHCP server is not really necessary if you assign a static IP address to your computer and the computer where you want to transfer the date to, although it makes life a little easier if you do have one.