Views
Helpful
Replies

Creating new VLAN on SG300

danmand
Level 1
Level 1

Hello folks.

I'm working for an organization that has multiple SG300 switches and 4 VLANs (VLAN10, 20, 30, and 40).

I'm at a point where I need to add a new VLAN to the existing network but I've never done it before.

I've been able to create a new DHCP pool and sub interface on the router and I've learned how to create a VLAN on the SG300 and assign a port to it. 

The problem I'm having is that I can't figure out how to configure the switch to get ip addresses from the new VLAN on the router.

I appreciate any help you can offer.  Thanks

6 Replies 6

Sujoy Paria
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hi,

Please allow the mentioned VLANs on the Trunk link (Switch port which is connected to the Router).

What is the Router model you are using? You have not provided the IP address details of the DHCP server and VLAN interfaces, in case hosts and remote DHCP server are not on the same network then you may use the ‘DHCP Relay’ option. Please refer the below mentioned link regarding DHCP relay configuration…

https://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/support/docs/smb/switches/cisco-small-business-300-series-managed-switches/smb1070-dhcp-relay-configuration-on-300-series-managed-switch.html

https://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/support/docs/smb/switches/cisco-small-business-300-series-managed-switches/smb5567-configure-dynamic-host-configuration-protocol-dhcp-relay-set.html

It will be good to have a Network topology along with the IP address details to understand your scenario better, if possible, please add the same.

Thank you for your response.

The router being used is an Adtran Netvanta 4430.  It currently has 4 sub interfaces setup for the different VLANs.  The IP addresses are:

192.168.10.0/24

192.168.20.0/24

192.168.30.0/24

192.168.40.0/24

I've created a 5th VLAN on the 4430 and would like to configure the Cisco switches to pull DHCP from that.