cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Multicast Spillover

NielsenDBT
Level 1
Level 1

I am a newbie to network switch configuration and my group recently bought an SG 300-28 Gigabit Managed Switch.

It appears by default to spill over (forward) all multicast traffic to all ports.

I want to reconfigure it to only forward multicast traffic to the ports that have joined that specific multicast.

I currently have one connection to our business LAN (10.45.x.x) for configuration on g24.

I have a PC (192.168.1.153) connected to g1 that is streaming out 2 multicast feeds (239.255.5.5:5005 and 239.255.6.6:5006)

I have another PC (192.168.1.159) connected to g13 that can receive 1, 2 or niether multicast feed(s). 

I see that there is a multicast menu in the user GUI, but I'm not sure what items I should be modifying.

Any help would be appreciated.

Doug   

3 Replies 3

Tom Watts
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hello Douglas,

On the switch, if you navigate to multicast FORWARD ALL, what this does is forward all multicast packets if you do not have a bridge filtering enabled on the PROPERTIES page.

If you have the bridge filtering enabled then you can specify the port for a vlan or LAG to direct the traffic. You may choose the option static to join the multicast stream, forbidden to not join or none to not be a forward all port.

Since you're using 2 specific multicast stream, the unregistered multicast shouldn't be an issue, however, you can choose to set the port configuration to FILTERING if you're unsure there is any unregistered multicast (traffic not defined by the address) and this will reject all packets that are not a part of the stream.

-Tom Please mark answered for helpful posts http://blogs.cisco.com/smallbusiness/

Thanks Thomas,

Perhaps I should clarify that the multicast traffic is successfully getting to the destination PC.  That is not the problem.

What I am trying to do is: