Views
Helpful
Replies

SF 302-08 managed switch

HenkS2952
Level 1
Level 1

Hi.

I am a newbie at Cisco and i don't have any experience what so ever with this equipment.

I have bought this switch to try :

We (our company) have a new glass fiber internet from a provider with 5 ip-addresses in an /29 range.

I try the accomplice the following.

On port 1 comes the output from the provider. On port 2 till 7 I want to separate the ip addresses so can distribute these addresses to our lan, to a wifi hotspot for external company visitors etc.

So on port 2 a ip to the lan, on port 3 a ip to wifi router

Can You give ideas how to make this happen?

Thanks

8 Replies 8

Tarquin Joseph
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

You do realize that with the topology you are describing, the LAN will only have a maximum of 3 IP addresses and all the IPs will be publicly routable right (security issues).  I would suggest using a firewall before your network.  Cisco has an SMB solution in the SA500 series devices - the SA520 should be best for you.

But back to your question, you can use the switch in Layer 2 mode to "distribute" the IPs if the /29 network that holds your 5 IP addresses uses a gateway from the provider in the same network.  You should be able to tell if this is so because the usable IPs are in sequence and the gateway will be the IP address value just before the lowest e.g. Usable IPs 192.168.1.2-6 and your gateway is 192.168.1.1 (ISP).

Otherwise, if you have a Point to Point allocation, and this /29 is routed to the Poin-Point IP then you will need a router or the switch would need to be configured in Layer 3 mode.  Best is for you to use the firewall.

Regards,

T.

Hello

Thanks for the reaction

And yes, I am aware of this situation therefore these ip splitting happens before our firewall.

1 ip address of the isp should be redirected to our LAN.

What you suggest about the gateway is correct. The lowest is our gateway and above these I have 5 more addresses.