Views
Helpful
Replies

SG300-10 as unmanaged switch

axure
Level 1
Level 1

Hi there,

I'm new to configure network switches and routers so please be thoughtful with my potentially dumb questions.

Here is my problem:
The SG300 switch I'm using has to two use-cases and the user shall be able to choose the use case and not be involved in the configuration process of the SG300. 

The first use case has a subnetwork which has to be able to communicate with many other subnetworks but only one at the time. E.g. A computer with the address 10.0.1.162/29 has to be able to talk to another computer with ip 10.0.1.2/30. For this I defined VLAN 1 with ip 10.0.1.161/29 and VLAN 10 with ip 10.0.1.1/30. Assigned each VLAN to the correct interface and it worked.

The second use case is much simpler since the the SG300 should just work like an unmanaged switch. However, I'm not sure how to set this up correctly such that I'm still able to access the CLI via an ethernet connection. The simplest configuration would just be to remove the IP address vom VLAN 1 and assign it to all ports but then only managed to access the SG300 via console cable.

The connection via ethernet is needed since the configuration should be switched by a computer only connected via an ethernet cable to the SG300. 

Is there a better way to configure the SG300? Thank you in advance for any advice

6 Replies 6

luis_cordova
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Deepak Kumar
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi,

Here is the Admin guide and it will guide you more. You can use the CLI or GUI:

https://www.cisco.com/c/dam/en/us/td/docs/switches/lan/csbms/sf30x_sg30x/administration_guide/78-19308-01.pdf

Regards,
Deepak Kumar,
Don't forget to vote and accept the solution if this comment will help you!

fmarshall
Level 1
Level 1

OK.  So first I'll paraphrase your situation and requirements as I understand them.

I presume you're using the switch in Layer 2 mode.  Is that right?