Views
Helpful
Replies

SG300-10 - DHCP Static DOES **NOT** work - assigment using MAC

nicolas diogo
Level 1
Level 1

hello experts,

i am not an expert on Cisco Switches, so i am using the web-gui to setup my switch.

i have created an IP range for my network and also defined a different default VLAN - as i understand this to be 'best practice'.

my default VLAN:

i have removed all other VLANs until i have figured out how to set these static IPs.

and all ports are assigned with the above VLAN *only*.

so IP range is defined as:

192.168.11.0/24

this is the info as it appears on the web-gui:

vlan_199_ipServer

0d 0h 1m

i have set the renewal interval to 1 minute for debugging purposes. and i will change it once i have it working properly.

This switch is working as the DHCP server in the network - but no Static address seem to work.

Instead, the dynamic IPs are been used by the clients/pcs in this network.

Amongst the clients, there are Windows 8, Windows Vista, Ubuntu 12.04, Ubuntu 13.10, raspberry-pi raspebian,..

but there is no way that i can set any of then to a static IP.

i already entered their details and there is a list of static IPs with the following info:

IP

hostname

network mask

MAC address

and it is display on the web-gui as:

IP AddressHost NameNetwork MaskIdentifier TypeMAC Address/Client IdentifierClient Name
 192.168.11.40rpiDesk01255.255.255.255MAC Addressb8:27:eb:d8:82:b6

I am not certain if i have provided suffient information - please let me know if you need further clarification.

My problem - How do i make my Static IP to be used instead of the dynamic ones?

with regards,

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions