Views
Helpful
Replies

SG350 network config

InCo
Level 1
Level 1

Hi All,

I am a support engineer for a mix of home users and small businesses and have over 10 years of experience. I consider myself very skilled in this field, however managed switches like these are not something I usually tinker with.

We have recently taken over an office building, which houses numbered rooms with small business clients within each. Without boring you with loads of details, we basically purchased this Cisco SG350-28 to separate the networks so that each client has their own IP range and cannot see other users machines.

I have an old Draytek 2830n here for testing, configured with an address of 192.168.1.1.

I have configured this Cisco SG350-28 with an IP of 192.168.1.254 - turned on the DHCP server and got internet access working easily on the base management VLAN1. All config has been done via the web GUI, not via command line.

I have configured the switch as a DHCP server, set up port 8 for office 8 to give out 192.168.108.x. The same for office 9 and 192.168.109.x, and the same again for office 10 at 192.168.110.x. This all appears to work (after great difficulty), clients get the correct DHCP addresses and cannot see one another which is as we would expect.

The only step I have not managed to get working here is I believe DNS routing back to the router for internet access.

For each port I have configured the IPv4 interface to be able to access the Cisco SG350 management page from that subnet, ie port 8 can connect to 192.168.108.254, same for the other two. I can get to the switch ok.

I have then experimented with the DHCP Server network pools to give out DNS ip addresses of the switch on the local ip range, the switch on its management IP, the router on the management ip range and googles public DNS, none of which seem to work.