cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

SG500-52P Losing Port Configs After Power Outage/Shutdown

boyerdccls
Level 1
Level 1

About a year ago we installed a Shoretel VOIP Phone System and needed new switches. Old ones were 10/100 and non-POE. I purchased several SG500-52Ps. They've been great except for one problem. When powered on after an extended power outage or shutdown for storms/hurricanes (I live in Florida) the vlan configs for some, but not all of the ports connected to the phones (that also then connect to a computer) have changed. I religiously save run to startup every time I make changes. The switch knows that things changed because my "save" blinks. What causes this? Do I have something setup incorrectly? The attached photo shows an example from the last time this happened. Ports 7-23 changed from 5T, 50UP (like port 6) to 1UP, 5T. Ports 28-35 (not shown) also changed. We use Shoretel 480G phones. I am an on-the-job-trained Systems Admin so go easy on me. Thanks for your assistance.

4 Replies 4

Lee Cox
Level 2
Level 2

I am no expert but I run a SG300-28 switch in layer 3 mode with multiple VLANs. 

When you connect multiple switches together with a trunked port the only untagged traffic gets passed through on the default VLAN.  I believe 1UP is your default VLAN as I don't think you can change it on these smaller Cisco switches.  So 50UP drops out.  You might try using 50T instead.  I guess you could use 1UP to make it work.

I assume you are using  trunked ports to connect to your phones because the workstations are plugging into the phones to reduce switch ports and they are both on different VLANs. 

If you switch over your 50UP VLAN it may break your 50UP VLAN as you switch over until it is all converted to a tagged VLAN.

Thanks Lee. I'm no expert either obviously. Even though I hold no certifications I read and study anything I don't know until I'm pretty comfortable that I have a good baseline knowledge of it.