cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

SLM 2024 VLAN Config help

Lawrence McCoy
Level 1
Level 1

I'm new to managed networking.  So I'm having trouble understanding how to set up my switches properly.  I have a closed network with about 20 switches and 2 IDF's.  No router, and no internet.  I have a SLM 2024 in want to have 4 ports set up with a VLAN.  I have another SLM2024 I want to be on the same VLAN some where else. Switch 1 uses port 24 GBIC as and uplink port to one of the IDF's.  Switch 2 uses ports 12 and 24 copper(LACP) to make a hop from another switch(ports 1 and 13 LACP)which inturn is connected to thesame IDF on port 24 GBIC.  How do I set up switch 1 ports 7,8,19,20?  Also, how do I set up switch 2 ports 7,8,19,20?  VLAN 11

Thanks for any help

5 Replies 5

Tom Watts
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hello Lawrence,

To create a VLAN;

• Navigate to VLAN MANAGEMENT -> CREATE VLAN
  • To assign a port to a VLAN go to PORT to VLAN then select the VLAN you want to assign to a port, by default it is VLAN 1
  • Any port you wish to be an exclusive member of VLAN 11, assign as an untagged member
  • Any port you are uplinking (switch to switch) should be assigned as default vlan untagged, additional vlan tagged

Let me know if this is helpful or if I may clarify anything.

-Tom

-Tom Please mark answered for helpful posts http://blogs.cisco.com/smallbusiness/

• Any port you are uplinking (switch to switch) should be assigned as default vlan untagged, additional vlan tagged

Does this mean that VLAN 11 should have the uplink ports tagged?

Lawrence McCoy
Level 1
Level 1

What about LAG groups?

Lawrence,

If you're connecting something which is to be a member of only vlan 11, it should be 11 untagged. The links connecting between switches should have a default vlan untagged, 11 tagged to allow both VLAN to travel over the wire.

To configure lag group;

• Navigate to PORT MANAGEMENT -> LINK AGGREGATION