cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Announcements

CISCO SWITCHES FOR SMALL and MEDIUM BUSINESS

Introducing the next generation of Cisco Small and Medium Business Switches. Cisco is refreshing its SMB Switch portfolio. Click here  to learn more.


251
Views
0
Helpful
2
Replies
Highlighted
Beginner

Turning off Stacking SF500

I have SF 500 that is configured in stacking mode right now. If I change it to standalone mode does that clear the config? I need access to gig 1 and 2 but they are set at the stacking ports right now.

 

Thank you ,

 

Greg

2 REPLIES 2
Highlighted
Cisco Employee

Hi Greg,

Yes, the startup config is deleted. So you will loose all your settings and device will return to the factory defaults.

Aleksandra

Highlighted
Participant

 

Aleksandra is right

from the admin guide:

http://www.cisco.com/c/dam/en/us/td/docs/switches/lan/csbms/Sx500/administration_guide/500_Series_Admin_Guide.pdf  Pg 73

 

 

Configuration After Reboot
When you change the stack mode of a device and reboot the device, the Startup 
Configuration file is usually removed because it may contain configuration 
information that is not applicable to the new mode.


It is retained after bootup in the following cases:
• SG500X/ESW2-550X devices:
- Standalone to Native Stacking—Retained only when the unit is forced 
to become the master with unit ID = 1
- Basic Hybrid to Advanced Hybrid—Retained only when the unit is 
forced to become the master with unit ID = 1
- Basic Hybrid to Advanced Hybrid XG—Retained only when the unit is 
forced to become the master with unit ID = 1