Replies

Vlan Trunking SSID's with SG300-28P & WAP4410n

zach hughes
Level 1
Level 1

My wireless AP is the WAP4410n

My switch is the SG300-28P

My router is the RVS4000

I want to create a guest wireless & an internal use only.

It looks easy enough on the WAP, associate a vlan id with the SSID.

I did notice after doing this the second vlan (the non-default vlan i created) wasn't getting an IP address.

I'm guessing the problem is my config on the switch..I created a vlan with the same ID as the one on the WAP.

Now for the trunking....I'm not sure what to do here, any advice on how to configure it?

Should I be creating a vlan to port trunk or vice versa?

Thanks!

7 Replies 7

David Hornstein
Level 7
Level 7

Hi Zach,

I am a Cisco Systems Engineer, so expect some product suggestions.

I have to admit I don't have the WAP4410N  only the older wireless G, WAP200 .

If I had my choice I would have the  newer AP541.

Ok thought i would set up the network as a configuration example for others, to get a feel for configuring VLANs.  Got to admit that it took me longer to write this response than to setup the whole network..

But yes, we need to be propagating a tagged Guest VLAN, in my case VID 100,  originating from the RVS4000,  through the 300 series switch  and into the Wireless AP Ethernet interface.

Here is the setup topology I used in  my  example;

VLAN setup table

All ethernet ports carrying only one VLAN,  will be in access mode.

All ethernet ports carrying more than one VLAN, will be in trunk mode.

I connected switch port 4 on my RVS4000 to Gigabit port 10 on my 10 port  SRW2008P-K9-NA, via a CAT5e cable .

Zach, great choice in using  the new 300 series switch !

In terms of router, I would have preferred a newer RV120W or the RV220W in preference to the RVS4000. They are a newer technology with some incredible  features and raw horsepower,  when compared to the older RVS4000.