cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

What is needed & How to wire switches for stacking

RicHausfeld
Level 1
Level 1

We had a SGE-2010, just purchased 2 (two) SGE-2010P. I want to stack the switches (all 3) (unless there is a better way). Not sure what is needed hardware wise, and how to physically wire the switches. Had switches years ago (diff brand) that used a special cable that connected the switches. It seems that is not the case here. I have not used fiber in networking before so I am new to that part, I’m willing to learn, just need pointed in the right direction.

Details:

The switches will all be in one rack.

Currently we use 100/1000Base-T to all the computers / servers.

Currently 1 switch (2 nd one just died) is connected to the SGE-2010 (LAG over two ports)

Currently 5 servers are connected to the SGE-2010 (LAG over two ports each).

A bunch of individual computers where thrown onto the SGE-2010 when the other switch died.

All the servers and computers are on 1 big happy LAN, all the computers need to access all the servers. No need to separate things.

Side Note:

Will be moving to new building in about a year. MIGHT have VOIP, so I might need to add another switch or two.

Questions:

Can all three switches be stacked, (1) SGE-2010 & (2) SGE-2010P?

I THINK I need to use the GBIC port 4 to stack, I understand 1 port is enough if two switches are used, but what about three or more switches.

What are the other GBIC ports used for?

Will I be better off (can I ) use the GBIC ports LAG (2 ports) to the other switches? Or would regular ports work just as well?

Thanks for you help

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Hi Ric,

Thank you for posting. Please see the following diagram that demonstrates how to stack 3 switches:

View solution in original post

Ric,

Using the regular ports should give the same performance. As far as I know you can stack the SGE2010P with the SGE2010 without issue.

View solution in original post

6 Replies 6

jasbryan