Views
Helpful
Replies

Configuring Multi-VLAN on CBW140AC Access point

fabios
Level 1
Level 1

Dear all,

sorry if this is too trivial but I am new to Cisco WiFI and I am stuck trying to configure 3 CBW140AC in a non mesh configuration supporting 2 SSID mapped to 2 different VLANs.

Network:

The back end network is a Cisco 1921 Router and multiple Cisco 3560 gigabit PoE switch interconnected with Gigabit trunk links. The 1921 is running DHCP and the 3560 providing access port and PoE. There are 6 VLAN running on the network of which 2 should be associated with (distinct) SSID on all three access points. All access points are wired with CAT 6 and Cisco CDP shows correct neighborough relationships with switches router and APs. I did get the access point up and running, mapped one as preferred primary and achieved broadcasting of the SSID mapped to the native VLAN of the uplink switch port.

The point is (and I have read a couple of times the management guide for CBW) I do not know/understand how to:

-set the AP wired interface to trunk mode: If I set the corresponding switch port to trunk, I loose connectivity same for setting it as switchport mode dynamic preferred and finally setting it for access or dynamic auto the port stays in access mode (and non native VLAN traffic is not forwarded);

-map VLAN to SSID; I did try creating a RLAN and setting the RLAN VLAN tagging to yes and selecting the proper VLAN, then setting the WLAN in the same way but I cannot achieve the desired result; creating multiple WLAN without tagging cause all the client on the different WLAN to be mapped to the default (native) VLAN, setting it to VLAN tagging yes and the proper VLAN fails to establish connection (client is not assigned an IP address) DHCP works correctly.