Views
Helpful
Replies

home office set up cisco 850 and wet200

LithiumKid1976
Level 1
Level 1

Forgive me if the question isn’t worded properly, im new to networks . J

I have a networking question regarding a network setup for a home office.

The internet connection is provided by broadband (no authentication required), So previously, the home office had a wireless router doing the job.

We now have a cisco 850 router and a wet200 wireless bridge at our disposal.

I want to be able to extend the wireless networks to the far end of the house, and i think the WET200 will do it.

Q1) I think, I still need an additional router, or use the old router, to make the initial connection to the internet, and I think I need to put it into bridged mode, then connect the cisco 850 to it. Is that correct?

Q2)so, from my limited understanding, I can configure the cisco 850 router as a wireless router, than use the cisco WET200 wireless bridge to extend the network. Does that sound correct?

Thanks

Any help appreciated.

2 Replies 2

jeffrrod
Level 4
Level 4

Dear Customer,

Thank you for reaching Small Business Support Community.

A1) If your Cisco850 router is capable on terminating your ISP internet connection, then you won't need an additional router.  Let's say your Cisco850 is a ADSL router (Cisco857W)  and your ISP provides you the same connection type then the Cisco router is good to go unless your ISP recommends different, but for example they require you to use a ADSL or Cable modem to terminate their connection or your Cisco router does not have an ADSL WAN interface; then you setup the Cisco router in bridge mode.

In order to get assistance setting up the Cisco850 in bridge mode, if recommended by your ISP, or if you require assistance configuring the ADSL or cable settings provided by your ISP on the Cisco router, I suggest you open a TAC case or a new forum post with the proper support team;

http://tools.cisco.com/ServiceRequestTool/create/launch.do