cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

WAP321 WDS

vgulinolite
Level 1
Level 1

I purchased 2 WAP 321's and plan to use WDS for roaming/signal purposes. Correct me if I am wrong but this would be the ideal setup:

WAP-01-Main wap connected to the wired LAN

1. Set a static channel of either 1, 6 or 11

2. Setup the SSID's/VLANs

3. Enable WDS entering the MAC address of the partner WAP (WAP-02)

WAP-02-Partner WAP

1. Set a static channel of either 1, 6 or 11

2. Setup the same SSID's/VLANs as the main WAP

3. Enable WDS entering the MAC address of the main WAP (WAP-01)

Are there any other suggestions? How can I determine that I will connect to the WAP closest to the client?

Thanks

7 Replies 7

vgulinolite
Level 1
Level 1

I should add that WAP-02 (Partner) will not have a Ethernet connection to the LAN

My name Eric Moyers. I am an Engineer in the Small Business Support Center.

If both access points have the same SSID and security, then it will be hard to tell which one you are connecting to without checking the MAC address. You could ensure that the Access Points are far enough apart that thee is only about a 5% overlap. That way the farther you get from one the more likely it is to drop the connection so that it can pick up the now closest one.

The WDS bridge is independent, of any wireless connection. They do not pass settings back and forth. I have before, set one SSID and encryption on one, then for the second made a slight altered SSID. For instance, SSID1: RIversideA and SSID2: RiversideB. Also still following the suggestions above for overlapping. 

If this does not improve your issue, please call our support center and open a case so that one of our engineers can work directly with you.
http://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/support/web/tsd-cisco-small-business-support-center-contacts.html

Eric Moyers
.:|:.:|:. CISCO | Cisco Presales Technical Support | Wireless Subject Matter Expert

Please rate helpful Posts and Let others know when your Question has been answered.