cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

WAP4400n - how to expand signal

raul
Level 1
Level 1

I have a WAP 4400n and need to expand the range.

Linksys support suggested WAP200 to repeat the signal, but I am probably missing something, because its not working.

WAP200 can see the WAP4400n, recognizes its MAC adress, but does not work.

Anything to set on the WAP4400n to let the signal to be repeated?

Thanks

11 Replies 11

V K Moorthy
Level 1
Level 1

In WAP 4410 allow the signal to repeated by repater (option under AP mode default).Also add the Mac address of WAP200 here.

My AP is WAP4400n not 4410......There is no such function there

Any other sugestion?

Thanks

Hi, My name is Eric Moyers. I am a Network Support Engineer in the Cisco Small Business Support Center.

Unfortunatly you are correct this device currently has no option for allowing its signal to be repeated.

Eric Moyers
Cisco Network Support Engineer
1-866-606-1866

Hi Eric,

Thanks for your answer.

Sorry to ask, but are you sure the signal can not be repeated? Linksys/Cisco support told me to buy WAP200 that should be the best way to repeat WAP4400n signal!!!!!

Any other sugestion?

Another way to expand/repeat the signal from WAP4400n?

What is your experience with WRE54g?

Thanks again,

Raul Moras

Hey Mr. Moras, No problem with asking questions to confirm. That is what we are here for.

When you called Linksys/Cisco support which number did you dial.

To use the WAP200, If it were possible, you would need to modify the wireless signal on the WAP4400N to only broadcast b/g only.

With the WAP4400N being an N Class Access Point, if it were possible, I would suggest to either use another WAP4400N or the WAP4410N.

The only thing I could suggest is if you have already bought the WAP200 is to use it as a separate AP. Basically two access point in two areas broadcasting different signals, but it still gives you expanded coverage.