Views
Helpful
Replies

CSPC server problem

kakathieuja
Level 1
Level 1

Hi all,

I am a newbie at Linux, i dont have any experience in CSPC.

At the moment, i have 2 physical NIC on CSPC server. But our topo need to set 3 difference subnet IP on 3 interfaces.

But i only have 2 physical. What i need to config on CSPC server and in my router/switch.

Example : I need to set IP 192.168.0.1/30 in NIC 1

192.168.100.20/28 in NIC 2

One IP for internet

Thanks

11 Replies 11

Lynden Price
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hi,

Have you created the "collectorlogin" and "root" passwords for the collector? There is no way to add a 3rd NIC through the admin shell, so you will need to access the underlying Linux.

The basic procedure once you're in CentOS is to go to:

/etc/sysconfig/network-scripts

create the new  ifcfg-eth file, where X:X is the module/interface you set up in the VM:

DEVICE=ethX:X
IPADDR=
NETMASK=
NETWORK=
BROADCAST=
ONBOOT=yes

There should already be two files for eth0 and eth1, so you'll just need to create one for eth2.

Once that is done, set up the static routes:

https://www.centos.org/docs/5/html/5.2/Deployment_Guide/s1-networkscripts-static-routes.html

Thanks,

Lynden

Hi Lynden,

Thanks for your answer,

But in this CSPC i have only 2 physical NIC, so i have to create 2 logical interface and add them to 1 physical interface to set IP and collect information from 3 interface/IP .

Do you have any suggestion ? 
Thanks so much.

Trung,

Hi Trung,

Do you mean this is a physical UCS server? I was assuming you were running a VM.

Thanks,

Lynden

Hi Lynden,

This is a physical UCS server with 2 physical NIC and i run Esxi5.0 on it.

But i have to set 3 different ip in different subnet in 3 interface. I think that i need to config 2 logical interface on 1 physical NIC and set ip in them, and set vlan etc. But i dont know how to do this :(

Do your have any suggestion?

Thanks,

Trung.

Hi Trung,