Views
Helpful
Replies

Moving from traditional to SDA

Hisoma Sama
Level 1
Level 1

Hello

we are currently upgrading our network all c9k series and we are installing only DNA

the network will be layer 3 routed access

my 1st question can i use DNA to auto config my switches , or better to configure my switches manually then attach DNA to it and make my discovery?

2nd Q: would my OSPF design for layer 3 routed access will be enough so once we move into SDA in phase 2 will be easy or there is another things to put in mind in this design that required once to move SDA

note: i have no pre-experience to SDA and requirements

thanks you  

6 Replies 6

jalejand
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

1. DNA Center can auto-configure switches depending on the automation task.

To configure new switches (with no configuration at all) you can use PnP to automate specific CLI commands

To configure new switches (with no configuration at all) for underlay routed-access you can use LAN Automation

Fabric configuration is automated by DNA

2. Any underlay IGP is in theory supported by SDA as long as jumbo frame and no summarization exists between nodes (meaning that every node must have a loopback0 advertised as /32, known by all nodes). DNA Center uses IS-IS for underlay automation, if you run OSPF as underlay, you might need to think about redistribution tasks between the existing OSPF network and future IS-iS nodes in case you want to use LAN Automation

Migration from a traditional network to SDA techniques can be reviewed here:

https://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/td/docs/solutions/CVD/Campus/cisco-sda-design-guide.html#Migration_Strategies

Thanks jalejand for your reply

for LAN Automation do i need use ISE for this or DNA can handle from its own?

jalejand
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

No need for ISE, ISE in fabric is mainly used for:

Cisco TrustSec SGT policies (microsegmentation in fabric, rules between endpoints based on their context/identity)