cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Flogi Issue - Cisco MDS/EMC VNX5300 (UCS Hybrid Storage)

stevecuddy
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I'm looking for some advice with my storage network - any help is much appreciated.

My primary goal is to configure Hybrid Storage on our UCS infrastructure (UCS in FC-SWITCH-MODE, delivering Direct Attached FCoE and FC via Cisco MDS 9148).

The direct attached FCoE and FC is working fine but I'm having a nightmare with the FC-SW network.When the UCS was in End Host (NPV) mode the FC worked fine - since switching to switched mode I can't seem to get the HBAs to log into the EMC VNX.

I only started working with FC networking around 6 months ago and I'm still studying it - I believe I have all the basics configured but I'm obviously missing something integral. It seems the blade HBAs can't see the VNX target.

Brief Overview : I'll attach my configs for ref :

UCS to 9128 is a TE Port (the relevant VSANs are allowed)
All wwpns are zoned correctly

Domain-IDs / Principal switches look to be ok.

All devices have flogi.

I can fcping the VNX and the HBAs from the MDS. I can't test end to end though unless anyone can recommend a windows tool ? There is no fcping functionality on the UCS (or that I can find) ?

I have narrowed it down to the following (maybe completely wrong)

1) flogi - The blade HBAs log into the UCS 6248 - the VNX logs into the MDS 9148 - a show flogi database cannot see the other logins, should this info be shared or is this expected behaviour ?

2) The FCNS database can see all nodes (but it reports the VNX as iscsi:both not target) is this an issue ?

Is there something I need to configure to force the HBAs to see the VNX ?

I have hopefully attached all the relevant info.

I look forward to hearing any advice you may have.

Steve.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Jeremy Waldrop
Level 4
Level 4