cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

port channel on MDS9148

Evan Ray
Level 1
Level 1

Are you able to create a port-channel on a MDS9148 to increase the banbwidth for storage?  I've Googled around a bit, and it seems like most of the port channel configuration are for switch to switch trunking.  We are looking to create a port-channel to connect to our EMC XtremIO and our Hyper-V hosts.

Cheers, 

13 Replies 13

dynamoxxx
Level 5
Level 5

port-channel is for switch to switch communication (FC world) . XtremIO (nor VNX/VMAX) know nothing about port-channels.  Where is the bottleneck ?  HBAs on host or Xbrick ports ?

@dynamoxxx

heya dynamoxxx!

I'm still looking into the possibility of a bottleneck, but the reason for my concern was I'm attaching multiple volumes to a host.  So I thought am I going to oversubscribe that port?  If I have 4 volumes that are hard hitting, I am no longer providing a dedicated 8Gbps port.  Is that wrong thinking?  I'm pretty new to the fiber world, so I still have some reading to do.  I just wanted to voice my conern on the forums and hope for some direction.

Also, what's a good way to see if you are overloading the port?  I was thinking to connect my MDS to my Observium server, that way I can get a better idea of what's going on.

if you want to look at real time, you can simply right click on an MDS port that your Xbricks are connected to, select monitor ..and watch real time utilization. If you need historical data and you have MDS fabric manager lisense, you can use DCNM to look at past statistics.

Another option is to look in XMS, under Reports you can select Cluster Bandwidth.  It does not break it down by Xbrick/port but gives you an overall picture.

When you say "hard hitting" , what are we talking about ? Did you look at those volume performance in XMS ?  Generating a lot of small block I/O does not consume a lot of bandwidth.

@dynamoxxx