Views
Helpful
Replies

PASSWORD RECOVERY SF300-24

enso_zh75
Level 1
Level 1

Hello friends.

This is my first time here so please give me the hope I need .

I am the new sysadmin on my work but unfortunately the last sysadmin didn't make any documentation about the actual infraestructure so i have a big problem.

Now I have two switches SF300 - 24 which are password protected and I need to configure them.

I have already tried with a serial cable connected to the switch in order to start the password recovery process but the only message I've got is "Current Password will be ignored" but no other guide or step to recover the password without loosing the configuration of the switch. So the switch starts to boot and thats all.

Can anybody help me with this issue.?

Thanks a lot.

8 Replies 8

Dennis Wieringa
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

the only thing i could find regarding your switch is that there is a small red button on de front lower left side if your switch.

hold it for 10 sec - Reboots switch

hold it for 30 sec - Restores to factory default

Also, this is the only docs Cisco has about this series

http://www.cisco.com/cisco/web/solutions/small_business/products/routers_switches/300_series_switches/index.html-tab-Models

EDIT:

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/switches/lan/csbms/sf30x_sg30x/administration_guide/78-19308-01.pdf

on page 392 are the steps for password recovery options.

hope this helps

Message was edited by: Dennis Wieringa

Don't forget to rate helpful posts.

Thanks for your help friend but If I use the reset button I will loose all the configuration and I dont have any idea of it's configuration.

Maybe any other idea?

fb_webuser
Level 6
Level 6

Was it a default password that you had with this switch?

Is it the firmware or the hardware password?

---

Posted by WebUser Fahad Ahmed from Cisco Support Community App

No friend, the default password has been changed and I ignore it.