Views
Helpful
Replies

2960G Switches and Auto QOS

roarkholz
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I am relatively new to working with Cisco switches and would appreciate any pointers anyone can give me regarding an issue I am having.

I have Seven 2960G 24-port switches and two 2960G 48-port switches that I am attempting to get Auto QOS set up on and seem to be having problems with just one of the 24-port switches. Six of these switches are installed at one location and the seventh (the one I am having problems with) is installed at another site connected with a 100Mb dedicated fiber connection using Allied Telesyn Fiber transceivers. All switches are running software version 15.0(1)SE3.

When I initially installed the six switches at the main site I simply used the switch web interface to set all of the ports to the "Cisco Phone+Desktop" Smartport setting, with the exception of the trunk ports which I set to the "Cisco Switch" Smartport setting. At the time I did not pay much attention beyond that as everything seemed to be working fine for us. By viewing the running config of these switches it looks as though the smart port setting I used enabled Auto QOS by default and near the top of the config for each switch there is a long list of commands that start "mls qos..."