Views
Helpful
Replies

6500 Crahed : RP is being reset by the SP

kthned
Level 3
Level 3

Hi,

One of our edge router (6500, running ios 12.2(33)SXJ) crashed with the following error. I found there were some RP-SP-ping GOLD test skipped due to high SP CPU utilization, but dont know if thats the reason. Crashinfo is attached. Hope to get you expert opinion on this. Shall we go for upgrade ?

Feb 17 15:19:10: %C6K_PLATFORM-2-PEER_RESET: RP is being reset by the SP

%Software-forced reload

15:19:10 met Sun Feb 17 2013: Breakpoint exception, CPU signal 23, PC = 0x42E24578

Thanks in advance.

Regards,

Umair

7 Replies 7

Douglas Holmes
Level 1
Level 1

I looked over your crash log.  I am not an expert.  I can say that your code is kinda out of date.  You can open a ticket with tac for review of your crash log.  They will also require a show tech.  Any idea why the high cpu utilization at the time of the crash? 

Nicholas Oliver
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Umair,

The crashinfo file that you have included came from the RP, it would have been found in either bootflash or bootdisk (or the slave equivalents).  The following line gives us an indication that we need to look to the SP:

Feb 17 15:19:10: %C6K_PLATFORM-2-PEER_RESET: RP is being reset by the SP

This line tells us that the SP reset, and as a result the RP went down.  The SP should provide more context into why the issue occurred.  Crashinfo files for the SP will be stored in either sup-bootflash: or sup-bootdisk: (or the slave equivalents).  This file may have the same name and date/timestamp as the one you retrieved, but it is from the SP perspective.  Could you provide that file for further review?

Here is a page that shows the process of retrieving both crashinfo files in a situation like yours:

https://supportforums.cisco.com/docs/DOC-19727

If you have any questions, let me know.

-Nick