cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

6509 Redundant Sup720 - Slave boots into Rommon

jclj
Level 1
Level 1

Hi. I'm fairly new to networking and need to migrate an old core to a new core. I have a 6509-e Switch that I had an RMA on one of my 720 sup cards. After receiving the sup card I swapped my slave out with the new one, expecting it to boot into ios. It booted into Rommon. I tried to boot the image manually and it did the same thing. I also tried to boot from my flash and, again, booted into Rommon.

Questions:

1. What am i missing here?

2. If i confreg and change the boot to boot from image it tells me i need to reset or power cycle first. Will this reset the entire switch? As this is production I'd rather not.

I am at home now, but I can supply any logs/hardware model/configs tomorrow. I thought I would see if this is an easy fix.

Thanks for the help.

23 Replies 23

As a last resort you can try replacing the current IOS with a newer one using Xmodem.  It defiantly takes a long time to load it because Xmoden is slow, however you can change the baud rate to load it faster.  If that doesn't help, RMA the Sup back to Cisco. I have seen the same issue with Sup-720-VS.  I had to RMA it.

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/hw/switches/ps700/products_tech_note09186a008015bfa1.shtml

HTH

Hi Chris,

Is the outputs in you 2nd post above from the time you tried to change RP ROMMON? It does not look like that as the supervisor continues to load image after the messages "00:00:05: %OIR-6-CONSOLE: Changing console ownership to route processor"?

00:00:05: %OIR-6-CONSOLE: Changing console ownership to route processor

System Bo otstrap, Version 12.2(17r)SX7, RELEASE SOFTWARE (fc1)
     Technical Sup port: ht tp:/ /w w w.cisco.com/techsup port
     Copyright (c) 20 09 by cisco Systems, Inc.
     Cat6k-Sup720/RP platform with 524288 Kbytes of main memory

Download Start