cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

A simple subnet for a home with many renters

jacksonrc
Level 1
Level 1

Say that I'm setting up a network in a frat house. Or something similar. I am not a networking expert, I have just been given this task. Please don't ask me anything about why we are doing this, as I see it as a WOT. Regardless I need to get it up and going.

Router A deals with 192.168.2.1 through 192.168.2.254. (Currently subnet mask 255.255.255.0)

We want to add a second router (Router B) with addresses 192.168.3.1 through 192.168.3.254.

We want to have desktop (hard wired) PCs on Router A's network addressing 192.168.2.X, and mobiles devices (Laptops and phones....hardwired and/or wifi) to connect trough Router B with the 192.168.3.X addresses.

We would like to be able to share/access between the 2.X and 3.X subnets

So from what I understand I run a hard line from the Ethernet port on Router A to the WAN port on Router B.

Questions are:

1. What should I use as my subnet mask on Router A.......and the machines hard lined to it?

2.What should I use as my subnet mask on Router B......and the machines hard lined or wified to it?

3. Do I keep DHCP enabled on Router B or will Router A handle that.

4. What do I need to enter into my routing tables on both Router A and Router B?

That's it for now, am I missing anything that I should know?

Thanks.

Sent from Cisco Technical Support iPhone App

12 Replies 12

jimmysands73_2
Level 5
Level 5

Curious, what make/model are you using?  And why use two routers?  Do you have two differnet internet connections? 

From the sound of it you want to run B to A and then A out to internet.

I believe one router would be able to handle diff DHCP scopes.

Example-

service dhcp

!

ip dhcp pool Network-A

network 192.168.2.0 255.255.255.0

default-router 192.168.2.1

dns-server blah blah

ip dhcp pool Network-B

network 192.168.3.0 255.255.255.0

default-router 192.168.3.1

dns-server blah blah

interface ethernet 0