cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

ASA 5505 to sg300 connection

Aalto_SysAdmin
Level 1
Level 1

I have a Cisco ASA 5505 with security plus license. I have been tasked with setting up a sg-300 in layer 3 mode to handle the inter-vlan routing instead of the asa. I'm new to cisco, I cut my teeth on Brocade and foundry and the ASA is a beast on its on. So far I have inter-vlan routing working on the switch but need advice on the asa to sg300 connection. Currently I have the asa with interfaces(inside,outside,) looking to dmz later a pass through to the sg300. My question is how should the connection to asa to sg300 be handled. 

vlan1 192.168.1.0/24

vlan2 172.16.2.0/24

vlan3  172.16.3.0/24

vlan4   172.16.4.0/24

19 Replies 19

Hi

Could you please share the current configuration for ASA and Switch?

:-)

>> Marcar como útil o contestado, si la respuesta resolvió la duda, esto ayuda a futuras consultas de otros miembros de la comunidad. <<

Configs are attached. Any help is appreciated. Once you review them post back and I can give you further details on what I am trying to accomplish. 

Have you had time to review the config?

Any luck at looking at the configs?

I have taken a look at the configs and have these observations and questions:

1) the switch config appears to be incomplete. in particular the only thing I see about routing is the config of a default gateway. In a cisco switch that would typically indicate that it was operating as a layer 2 switch and not routing for its own subnets. I am not sure how to interpret that on this switch.

2) what I see in the switch is 4 vlans that appear to be active and preparation for a DMZ vlan that does not appear to be active.

3) the 4 active vlans have DHCP pools configured with the switch interfaces as the gateway address. This would appear to support routing for the vlans.

4) The DMZ vlan is not active and I suggest that we do not worry about this until everything else is working