Views
Helpful
Replies

ASA5505 - Setting up a LAN to access Internet

james00010
Level 1
Level 1

Hi there,

I am new to the Networking and CISCO world, although I used to play around iptables and Untangle firewalls. Unfortunately my laptop does not have a serial port and until I get a USB-to-RS232 adapter I am going to use ASDM for the setup of my infrastructure. So basically I want to replace Untangle with my newly delivered ASA5505 to obtain the following fairly simple infrastructure:

VLAN1 - management (192.168.1.1)

VLAN2 - outside interface internet (x.x.x.x)

VLAN3 - lan (192.168.100.x)

First of all suffice to say that I am on the base licence. Can I make the lan (vlan3) connect to the internet? I have restricted flow from vlan3 to vlan1 to be able to use a third vlan, and hopefully connect it to the internet. For some reason, I am not able to reach the internet from vlan3 although I got a DHCP .100 address on the client and can connect to the others.

When I connect the laptop to the management interface, I have internet access.

The only static route I have is the default internet one. I am assuming all the other VLANs communicate with each other.

Can someone help me please?

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

JohnTylerPearce
Level 7
Level 7

I'm assuming the Outside Interface is at Security Level 0 and the LAN interface is at Security Level 100.

If the LAN interface, cannot get access to the Internet, make sure there is a dynamic PAT entry for the network.

The internal IP Addresses with need to have a public IP assoicated with them, to communicate to the internet, so like I said above, make sure there is a dynamic PAT entry. You can configure this with the ASDM.

If you have just a static route which goes to the nxt hop of your Outside interface that is a good first step.

If you have multiple internal networks behind the LAN interface, you need to create a static map to point towards them.

Please let me know if you have any further questions.