Views
Helpful
Replies

Beginner Questions

jgrossmac
Level 1
Level 1

Hello All,

I am new to cisco networking (I just passed my A+ test and am working on my Network + test with an end goal to finish with a CCNP) and I bought a Cisco 2620 XM and a 1605R to figure out how to setup and practice on.   In my house we have Verizon Fios with the standard Verizon appliance feeding internet to the rest of the house.  My question is that will my Cisco appliances be usable with an out connection from the Verizon appliance?  I am concerned because the connection that comes into my room from the Verizon router would be considered a LAN connection, not a WAN?  Also in order to configure the router, I believe it needs an RJ-45 to serial to plug into a computer for setting up.  My computer doesn't have a serial port so will an RJ-45 to USB work (since that is serial as well)?  Any help or links would be much appreciated. Thanks!

3 Replies 3

Peter Paluch
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hello Jason,

Congratulations to passing your A+ test! Keep up the great work and good luck for your next certifications!

will my Cisco appliances be usable with an out connection from the  Verizon appliance?  I am concerned because the connection that comes  into my room from the Verizon router would be considered a LAN  connection, not a WAN?