Views
Helpful
Replies

Cannot Access Internet Through SR520 Router

davefieldsea
Level 1
Level 1

Good Afternoon,

I'm extremely new to the world of Cisco CLI Routers and to be completely honest I know I'm a bit out of my depth here. However, I've been asked to create a basic setup on our SR520 router to connect to a PPPoA BT Connection. Due to the fact that the Cisco Configuration Assistant doesn't support PPPoA, I've had to do this via the CLI which is proving to be a bit of a pain..

I've followed this guide http://www.cisco.com/en/US/tech/tk175/tk15/technologies_configuration_example09186a008071a601.shtml here which helped do a basic config but I changed a couple of things such as the vlan 75 details and the DHCP scope via the CCA.

Anyway, I have got it connected to the internet and the Rx/Tx lights are flashing with the CD light solid so I guess that's a good start! However, I'm thinking that NAT and/or the firewall settings aren't working because I cannot contact any websites or even ping the external DNS server from a client.

I would really appreciate it if someone can point me in the right configuration. I think I need to disable the dialer 0, I've shut it down but not sure if that helped? My router config is attached.

-> THIS PART IS NO LONGER AN ISSUE -- On a side note, I keep getting the following appear:

*Apr  2 15:35:38.987: %FW-6-DROP_PKT: Dropping udp session 192.168.75.11:64757 8.8.8.4:53  due to  One of the interfaces not being cfged for zoning with ip ident 0

Pretty sure this is my FW dropping packets which doesn't help but no idea how to fix it! <-

Any help would be most appreciated, thank you in advance!

Edit: LATEST CONFIG IS ALWAYS IN MY LATEST REPLY

12 Replies 12

kcnajaf
Level 7
Level 7

Hi Dave,

I have not personally worked on SR 520 router, but still could you try testing by removing the zone based firewall configuration from interface and see if you are getting the same result.

conf terminal

interface Dialer1