cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Catalyst 4500 4200W Power Supply Requirements

MikeO5422
Level 1
Level 1

I am new to understanding the power requirements for these devices. I have been using the power calculator tool and reading the 4500 installation guide here, which outlines the power supply requirements.

I would like to run a 4200W power supply with dual 120 inputs. To me the document is straight forward regarding this:

"Each chassis power supply should have its own dedicated, fused-branch circuit"

To me this means we need a total of two circuits. Both inputs on power supply A would connect to circuit 1, both inputs on power supply B could connect to circuit 2.

However, some folks are adamantly suggesting we need 4 circuits, on per power supply input. They are suggesting that the document is not correct. Other folks are suggesting that we could run two circuits, where input 1 on power supply A is connected to circuit 1, and input 2 is not connected to anything. Same for power supply B but on circuit 2.

I simply don't understand how they are coming to these conclusions. Has anyone here run a 4200W with dual 120 inputs? If so, what is the recommended number of circuits and plug configuration per circuit/psu?

4 Replies 4

Reza Sharifi
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

The 4200 has 2 AC-inputs, one should be connected to one power circuit or PDU and the other one should be connected to another power circuit or another PDU.  If you are not using any PDUs, then both power cords can directly plug into to receptacles.

HTH

for full 4200W operation, the PSU needs two feeds that can supply 230V 20A

look at this from the installation guide.

Branch circuit requirement

Each chassis power supply should have its own dedicated, fused-branch circuit:

• For North America—15 A or 20 A
  • For International—Circuits sized to local and national codes
  • All Catalyst 4500 E-series AC-input power supplies require single-phase source AC.