cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

CCNA 3 - VLANS

holtie388
Level 1
Level 1

Hey, im currently studying a network engineering degree and i have been given an assignment on VLANS, i have a question for you guys...

I have 4 Vlans in the design and a requirement is that an Network manager requires access to every server within the network no matter what VLAN.

Without the use of a layer 3 switch or any form of inter vlan routing, is there a way to provide this form of access?

I know using a router and sub interfaces would be the best option but im just curious if this is possible any other way.

Josh.

P.S sorry if this isnt the place to post this question.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Jan Hrnko
Level 4
Level 4

Hi Joshua!

This IS the place to post this question, so don't worry!

As you said you have these options:

Solution covered in CCNA is Router-On-A-Stick.

Solution covered in CCNP Switch is Layer 3 switch with SVIs(switch virtual interface) or IP routed ports.

I'm afraid that there really is not any type of mechanism that would allow you to do such things without some form of inter-vlan routing.

Best regards,

Jan

View solution in original post

4 Replies 4

Jan Hrnko
Level 4
Level 4

Hi Joshua!

This IS the place to post this question, so don't worry!

As you said you have these options:

Solution covered in CCNA is Router-On-A-Stick.

Solution covered in CCNP Switch is Layer 3 switch with SVIs(switch virtual interface) or IP routed ports.

I'm afraid that there really is not any type of mechanism that would allow you to do such things without some form of inter-vlan routing.

Best regards,

Jan

Hi Josh and Jan,

I'm afraid that there really is not any type of mechanism that would  allow you to do such things without some form of inter-vlan routing.

Well, I see one but it is far from a best practice point of view