cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco 1841 Setup (Totally Lost)

Watchlord
Level 1
Level 1

I've recently acquired a Cisco 1841 from a school that was upgrading their network. Although, I have a computing background, I am totally new to networking.

I can't seem to get this thing set up. I can't find a manual online, just a brochure and a few very specific guides here and there. I've managed to reset the router (I think) and enter the initial configuration, but I can't seem to be able to save the configuration or get any further. I can only access it with one of those blue console cables.

Basically what I want to do:

Configure FastEthernet0/0 to connect to a cable modem or other wan (like an apartment ethernet jack) that uses dhcp.

Configure FastEthernet0/1 to act as a router/gateway/dhcp server for a personal class c network.

Make it moderately secure for a home network, but nothing fancy.

If at all possible, I also want to do:

Configure port forwarding to a server on my network.

Configue Dynamic DNS.

I want to use the 1841 to replace a wrt54g as my home router and use the wrt54g as an access point.

I know it's annoying to be asked to explain this in layman's terms, but I don't know where else to turn. I appreciate any help.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Elton Babcock
Level 1
Level 1

It possibly could be that you have hard coded your speed and duplex on your WAN interface.

Try setting them back to auto.

Interface fa 0/1
Speed auto
Duplex auto

If you can't set this on both sides for the cable I would recommend that you leave it on auto/auto.

I'm not sure what your LAN interface connects to but unless it is hard coded on the other side you should change it back

You might have just gotten lucky that your Netgear router was able to negotiate the speed. But at the same time it might have defaulted to 10/half because it tried to negotiate but didn't hear anything from the other side.