cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco C2960-24TT-L ping issue after upgrade and directory deletion

mBastien0100
Level 1
Level 1

Hey Cisco community, I am a beginner practicing and I've been stuck on this issue for the past two days and I believe I have narrowed down the issue to being a problem with the switch. I have a simple network topology attached to this post for better reference. I connected my comcast router via Ethernet cable to the switch's g0/1 interface. Before I connected anything else the switch was able to ping to my desktop's wnic without an issue. This is how I was able to copy the c2960-lanbasek9-mz.122-55.SE8 image stored in flash over to the tftp server and then copy the IOS c2960-lanbasek9-mz.150-2.SE11.bin over to the switch. I configured the boot system to load with IOS v15. After booting with the new image I proceeded to removing the IOS 12 directory that had the bin image, an html file I think and a config file inside. I figured I wouldn't need these since the new image was now working on the switch. But since then I have not been able to ping any device besides my router from the switch. This is when I proceeded to adding my laptop and pc directly to the switch interfaces and still I could not ping the hosts connected to the switch. But on both hots' cmd I was able to ping the switch and get a reply. I am not able to ping the laptop from the pc and vice versa yet there is internet connection and I can browse. I'm not sure if it was the directory I deleted or just the new image (or that the ios has made it a layer 2 switch completely) but it's been a huge pain. I've made sure that the dhcp settings on the comcast router is correct, the default gateway is set on the switch, and that the interfaces are on the proper vlan which is vlan 1. They are also on the same subnet of 10.0.0.x. I don't think it's the firewall because it would've blocked my pings when I first set the switch up, I even tried with different ip as well. I also was able to pin