Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco - History of upgrade file types ?

vv0bbLeS
Level 1
Level 1

Hello all,

I'm new to Cisco and I've been learning about the various platforms and the ways you can upgrade them (.tar, .pkg, and .bin files, install vs bundled mode, etc.).

I'm currently trying to become more familiar with the various upgrade file types, and I'm curious about the evolution of the upgrade files from the early days (like the 1970's) up until present day. For example:

1. How were upgrades done in the past? Did you use only .bin files, and what all was contained in these old school .bin files?

2. Why did .tar and .pkg files come into play? What was the reason for introducing these file types as opposed to just staying with the .bin files?

3. What do modern .bin and .pkg files contain? (I know on some platforms the .bin files are really just .tar files that contain the .pkg files, but on other platforms the .bin files are just the literal binary files, but not sure what these literal binary files contain in terms of the upgrade.)

4. On platforms where the .bin file is literally just that (a binary file), what is the .bin file used for, and how do the .pkg files relate to the literal .bin file ?

0xD2A6762E
2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Joseph W. Doherty
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Back to the 70's, eh? That's before Cisco was started (12/84). At the time, for the next few years too, realize Cisco was an "unknown" start-up. I.e. few probably have direct experience using their then equipment (I for one, although I started in the industry in the very late 70's, for example, do not have such experience).