cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

DROTHER

Raha_1990
Level 1
Level 1

Hi!i'm a newbie here.i can't understand the answer given in the question.how could you explain it?

best  regards,Abdurahman

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Abzal
Level 7
Level 7

Hi,

Because on point to point link there is no DR/BDR election. It happens only on broadcast network like fasterhernet, when multiple routers share one subnet.
This is the simplest network type for OSPF. Two routers connected via point-to-point link. For this particular network, there is no need to have DR and BDR. Why, because each router will sending updates to each other and having DR and BDR will not change the situation.
Link
http://www.davidsudjiman.info/2008/04/25/ospf-network-types-point-to-point-cisco-standard/

Please rate helpful posts.

Sent from Cisco Technical Support iPhone App

Best regards,
Abzal

View solution in original post

2 Replies 2

Abzal
Level 7
Level 7

Hi,

Because on point to point link there is no DR/BDR election. It happens only on broadcast network like fasterhernet, when multiple routers share one subnet.
This is the simplest network type for OSPF. Two routers connected via point-to-point link. For this particular network, there is no need to have DR and BDR. Why, because each router will sending updates to each other and having DR and BDR will not change the situation.
Link
http://www.davidsudjiman.info/2008/04/25/ospf-network-types-point-to-point-cisco-standard/

Please rate helpful posts.

Sent from Cisco Technical Support iPhone App

Best regards,
Abzal

Rolf Fischer
Level 9
Level 9

This question combines a basic knowledge about the different networktypes in OSPF and some experience in the output of the "show ip ospf neighbor" command.

One design goal when developing routing protocols is to keep the protocol traffic as low as possible.