Helpful
Replies

encounter every XX seconds network topology change

On our network we encounter every XX seconds network topology changes

This is alwasy on the SG220 Types

The Catalyst 2960x

On the SG220 devices we don't see these changes

Everything is in RSTP

All they switches are on the latest firmware except the Catalyst.

What could be the reason

14 Replies 14

Hello,

post a schematic drawing of your topology. Is there anything showing in the logs ?

hello

i post here a schematic ( no visio :-( still waiting for license)

Each blue block = a Switch

Yellow Star = encounter network topology change

White block = No cisco switch

i'm brand new to Cisco , so don't know how to look at the logs

Joseph W. Doherty
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame
Are edge ports configured with PortFast?

it guess there are too many hops between two "leaves" of this tree for spanning-tree to converge

this is why a star topology or access - ( distribution- ) core topology are common.

conversion to MST may also help because number of hops are less important

do you have idea what switch is the root of your tree?

It can help to manually configure the root of the spanning-tree to a central point in your network by configuring the spanning-tree priority

STEPAN JANKOVIC
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

you have to track down, where are these changes happening. As was already written, your edge ports have to be portfast ports, to not generate TCN. It is true that your network STP diameter is high and topology should be simplified. STP Root has to be located in the core and fixed by manual configuration. I believe, that during implementation of these steps, you will evade the issue.

Regards

Stepan

The bad network topology is something from the past , ATM we are design a new network topology

In the meantime we have to solve this problem , because every xx second there is also a outage of the network , so i suppose the reason is also the topology change.