Views
Helpful
Replies

Etherchannel over SVI ports On Cisco Catalyst 3650 switches

Abdel-Nasser
Level 1
Level 1

Hello Everyone...
I am just a beginner and I need your help to understand the following issue.
I used SVI over a set of Catalyst 3650 switches, and I want to use Etherchannel over these switches also. Because of that, I need to understand what happens if I use the combination of SVI and Etherchannel if it is possible.
With regards 

3 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Iaroslav
Level 1
Level 1

Hello, Abdel-Nasser,

1) Etherchannel is a technology allowing you to use several physical links as a logical one from STP perspective. If it is omitted, only one link could be active, others would be blocked by STP on either of 2 sides.
2) SVI is a logical L3 interface allowing you to assign an IP address to the switch in a VLAN without dedicating a certain port for it.

In other words, those features are totally distinct and do not interfere with each other so you can safely implement both. I would also suggest using LACP for bundling as it rules out miscabling.

Discovering the Why
https://braonle.wordpress.com/

View solution in original post

Giuseppe Larosa
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Hello Abdel,

you can use SVIs L3 interface Vlans and L2 etherchannels configured as L2 trunk or (less likely) L2 access port.

A L3 port-channel is instead a type of routed port where the IP address is assigned to the port-channel interface and all member links have no switchport no ip address.

A L3 port-channel cannot be used as L2 trunk.

If the L2 vlan that is associated to the SVI is permitted over the L2 trunk over the L2 etherchannel on both ends you are fine.

Example:

vlan 100 of interface vlan 100 is allowed / permitted on both ends of the L2 etherchannel it is okay to use it.

Hope to help

Giuseppe

Hello Abdel,

thanks for your kind remarks.

>> 1) SVI and EtherChannel can be used over trunk or access ports.