cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Exchange Server is not accessible by other vlans.

donmarlooon
Level 1
Level 1

Hi everyone,

I have this network that all workstations and servers are all in the same vlan(default vlan). From this point exchange is reachable and accessible because they are all in the same vlan.

But since this network wants to upgrade their network to have vlans separating users per floor, servers and printers, I will just have to migrate the workstations to designated vlans ensured that all these vlan still reachable to each other. I have done this successfully by ip routing on the core and trunk allowed on switch to switch connections. Also there is no existing ACL on core.

I'm a network engineer so I don't have any knowledge with servers. On my testing, I retain the servers on the default vlan and migrate one workstation to other vlan. I am not able to reach exchange server/OWA but other servers like lex is reachable and accessible.

I just want to ask if there's a changes that needs to be done on the side of exchange server, so that it can be seen by other vlan or there is something that I haven't done.

Feel free to ask if there's some information you need to know about the network thanks.

Would greatly appreciate any help. Thanks!

9 Replies 9

Reza Sharifi
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Hi,

There should not be any need to change anything on the exchange server.  The server has an IP address and it needs to be reachable by all other subnets and as well as the user subnet.

Is the router or the device that is routing between VLANs configured correctly?

What is the segment where the server is and what is the user segment?

Can you post the config for the device that is routing between vlans?

HTH