cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Gigabit the dust. Why is my max transfer speeds 30Mbps?... Cisco 3850 with isr4331 Router

stdout
Level 1
Level 1

I have an ISR4331 router and 3850 and when I try to transfer files, the throughput is horrible. definitely not the gigabit speeds all of the hardware supports. I'm not sure where I need to start looking to try to figure out why and how my configs are limiting the throughput on these interfaces.

I know there will be a lot of questions as to my configs and since this is my first time posting, I'll wait to see what information is needed, if any.

Thanks!

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Again, basic performance license for your 4331 only supports 100 Mbps, aggregate.  If you have "better" performance licenses, and have not applied them, or activated additional performance, even on a trial basis license, that's the cap you're working under.  Again, if the 3850 is transmitting data to the ISR in high capacity bursts, that cap might explain why you're not even seeing 100 Mbps.  Because, also again, if the caps drops a bunch of packets, transfer rates can drop (a lot).

(If this is what's happening, w/o changing the licensing on your ISR, running the connection between the ISR and 3850 at 100 Mbps might see the transfer rate increase.  Although, then you're more likely to see egress queues drops on the 3850, which w/o some tuning [like what's been suggested by Leo], can also cause performance issues.)

On the other hand, your 3850 doesn't have a performance license, and basically, more or less, it can do wire speed on all the ports concurrently.

An ISR is really designed for WAN routing, where you need "features" more than "speed".  The 3850 is the converse, i.e. "speed" over "features".