cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

How can I find the upstream router / next hop for a given interface?

ArchiTech89
Level 1
Level 1

I am working as a contractor in a new environment that includes over 100 ASAs (including the various security contexts), and I need to be able to ascertain the next hop for each of the interfaces on each of the devices.

Are there any tools, or are there ASA commands which would easily provide me that information?

I've asked this before in a different forum, but wasn't provided with a solution.

Is the ARP table my best bet? When I look there within a specific context, I see a few different entries but don't know how to determine which is the correct next hop. Also, I'm guessing that ASAs can't use CDP. But the firewall is configured with OSPF -- does that help my cause?

I'm not a complete newbie, but I'm also not years into these devices. Any help would be very gratefully acknowledged.

Cheers!

jeremyNLSO

P.S. I posted here because it basically applies to any interface. If it's the wrong place to post, I'll be happy to move it...

ArchiTech89
CCNA Routing & Switching, CCNA Security
MCITP, MCTS
Berlin, Germany
15 Replies 15

Philip D'Ath
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

I don't think I fully understand what you want to achieve.  Would this not be as simple as going to each context and checking what the next hop is for the default gateway?

Thanks for your reply.

I actually am not concerned with what the default route is, what I'm looking for is the next hop for each individual interface. More like a router than a switch. Does that make sense?

Thanks,

jeremyNLSO

ArchiTech89
MCITP, MCTS
Berlin, Germany

To clarify, you mean you want to know what physical port each ASA is plugging into on the remote device?

Do you have access to the switches (this is much easier to do from the switch side)?