cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

How can I route on 2960X using EIGRP?

T_tow
Level 1
Level 1

I'm new to the networking world and I'm trying to catch up quickly because we're short staffed here.  Before our networking guy left he ordered 3 2960Xs and an ISR 4451 for a small branch site.  Other branches have 3850s as the core at there sites. The other switches route fine using EIGRP and can communicate throughout the network.  The 2960X can't I assume.  Is there a way I can let the network know my 10.x.x.x/24 (data vlan) is down here at the switch?  The 4451 is in a WAN EIGRP configuration so it's getting around the network fine and it's directly connected to one interface on the 2960 but that's where reachability stops.  I've set up an SVI for my data vlan but I can't ping it.  Any ideas?

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

The switch would need to a host IP and a default gateway assignment, the latter being on the 4451.

View solution in original post

12 Replies 12

Joseph W. Doherty
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame
If I recall correctly, a 2960X, with the right software (and/or license?) supports some very basic routing, but assuming you only use the 2960X as a L2 switch, you would provision an interface as the gateway for the /24 on the 4451 and connect that interface to the 2960X. (If you want to have multiple networks, you create a trunk on the 2960X and an interface with subinterfaces on the 4451.)

If you define a SVI, on the 2960X, excluding enabling routing on the switch, it would only be used for switch management, and would be a host IP on a network hosted by the 4451.