cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

How to setup VLANs for new security cameras on existing Catalyst 3560s and 3845 Router

erikahess
Level 1
Level 1

Forgive me as I am not an expert.  I have 3 Catalyst 3560s (a MB, GB, and X) and a 3845 router.   I have 6 new security cameras (IP) that will be added to the network next week.  I do not have any separate VLANs setup right now and know I should get another VLAN setup for the cameras.  I know the Catalyst 3560s are layer 3 devices, but I also have a router.  What is the best way to setup the routing?  On the router or the switches?  I don't have the router connected directly to each switch right now nor do I have the switch ports avaiblale on the router to directly connect each switch to it.  I have a 3560x in building b, a 3560G and the 3560MB building a.  Building b and building a are connected by fiber through a HP Procurve swtich at building b and the 3560G in building a.  The HP Procurve is connected to the 3560X in building b with fiber.   

The 6 cameras will be connected to the 3560 MB switch.

I have another security camera connected to the 3560X switch in building b.

The NVR server is on the 3560X switch in building b.

How do I setup the VLAN to add my security cameras? 

36 Replies 36

Good.

You'll definetely need to tagged vlan 20 on both port 25 and 26 on the HP switch, otherwise from switch 3560x, you wont be able to access the cameras on 3560MB and viceversa.

And one more thing. Did you configured vlan 20 on your main router?

Regards,

Terence

I've attached a txt document based on your config.

This is what I had added to the 3845 router.

interface GigabitEthernet0/0.20

encapsulation dot1Q 20

ip address xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx

But what about your vlan1??

You should configured it like you did for vlan 20.

interface GigabitEthernet0/0.1

encapsulation dot1q 1

make sure u do a no shut under interface Gi0/0.