Views
Helpful
Replies

Identify high usage machines on 837 router

heidi.hendry
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

My client has asked for assistance with their Cisco 800a series router. I am very new to Cisco IOS, but have been thrown in the deep end with this one.

Router is an 837 ADSL router (I think) based on show version

iOS seems to be 12.3

There is no CRWS, and SDM is not functioning.

The symptom that the client is seeing is excessive downloads and uploads on their ISP usage statistics. (100 times the normal).

Their history is that they told me that previously there was an issue with the router where it was repeatedly trying to download something.

My first port of call is to check that the entire network's AV is up to date.

What I would like to be able to do is somehow identify which machine  is making heavy use of the router.

I have been trying to do this myself, and have managed to enable logging at debugging level on iOS following instructions elsewhere. However I don't seem to be able to view the logs:

show logging

only shows what the logging settings are.

And I'm not 100% sure that logging is going to give me the answer that I want.

The client is planning to change routers soon, but while waiting for the new hardware they are racking up excessive charges with their ISP.

Could anyone assist me?

(Located in Broken Hill, Australia, very isolated, and not much high level IT support)

6 Replies 6

garapoglou
Level 3
Level 3

Hi,

Unfortunately, logging won't help you on that. To identify which client is creating traffic, you need to enable the netflow protocol on the router and check the top-talkers. Before going into the configuration, could you please tell me how many clients connect to that router? The reason I'm asking you has nothing to do with the configuration.

Best regards,

Giorgos

Antonio Knox
Level 7
Level 7

You can monitor Netflow traffic.  Enable netflow as such (interface config mode)

Router(config)# int e0