Views
Helpful
Replies

IP directed-broadcast extended ACL

matt_isda_bomb
Level 1
Level 1

Hi all,

I'm quite new to ACL's so fogive any errors.

I am currently trying to get Wake on LAN working in our enviroment to allow SCCM 2007 to wake computers. I have configured the ACL's to allow the packets across VLANS.

I followed the CISCO guide

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/hw/switches/ps5023/products_configuration_example09186a008084b55c.shtml and it works, but i am concerned that i have left the security to open.

First i allowed the server in an ACL entry

permit udp host 192.168.99.x eq 7

then i allowed fowarding of WOL packets in broadcasts.

ip forward-protocol udp 7 

Then on the VLAN interface i got a bit stuck. in the guide it says to input the ACL number after. however i use ACL names and i cannot add the name.

ip directed-broadcast ACLNumber

It WORKS great if i simply don't put the ACL number, but i fear that this is to "Open".

Any advice greatly appreciated!

Matt

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hey Matt,

Per the command reference, only numbered ACLs can be given as an argument to the 'ip directed-broadcast' command, so you'll need to use config like:

access-list 101 permit udp host 192.168.1.x any eq 7

ip directed-broadcast 101

I didn't find any pending enhancements to allow named ACLs at this time.

Cheers,

/Phil

View solution in original post

10 Replies 10

Richard Burts
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Matt

It is certainly true that ip directed-broadcast with ACL is more secure than ip directed-broadcast with no ACL. The degree of risk is probably not high, but you are better off if you get the access list to work.

I am puzzled at the ACL that you are trying to use. Since it specifies udp and specifies eq 7 it looks like it would be an extended access list. But since it only lists one IP address it looks like a standard access list and not extended access list. Perhaps you can supply more detail about the access list?