Views
Helpful
Replies

Jumpering ports..

marcsellgren
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I've been searching quite extensively on Google, but haven't found anything that I've got working.

For testing purposes I want traffic transmitted into the switch  to pass through all the physical ports. To achieve this I will patch the  ports in pairs and then make a logical connection between each pair. Is  this possible? So far the traffic has just skipped all the jumpered ports. Also, I'm quite new to this in case that wasn't obvious

Thanks in advance.

/Marc

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

So what you're trying to do is called a snake test.

This is where traffic will ingress port 1, be switched across the switch backplane to egress port 2, which being externally connected via some form of cross-over cable to port 3, will see the traffic ingress on port 3, through the backplane to port 4, and so on for as many ports as you wish to test.

The ASCII art setup for an imaginary 8-port switch would be as follows:

|-<- gi1/1 (Vlan2) -<- traffic generator tx

|

|->- gi1/2 (Vlan2) ->-|

| x-over cable

|-<- gi1/3 (Vlan3) -<-|

|

|->- gi1/4 (Vlan3) ->-|

| x-over cable

|-<- gi1/5 (Vlan4) -<-|

|

|->- gi1/6 (Vlan4) ->-|

| x-over cable

|-<- gi1/7 (Vlan5) -<-|

|

|->- gi1/8 (Vlan5) ->- traffic generator tx

The key to the configuration is a deliberate mismatch of VLANs on the ports connected via the cross-over cables. So for the above we would have a configuration as follows:

!

interface gi1/1

switchport mode access

switchport access vlan 2

!

interface gi1/2

switchport mode access

switchport access vlan 2

!

interface gi1/3

switchport mode access

switchport access vlan 3

!

interface gi1/4

switchport mode access

switchport access vlan 3

!

interface gi1/5

switchport mode access

switchport access vlan 4

!

interface gi1/6

switchport mode access

switchport access vlan 4

!

interface gi1/7

switchport mode access

switchport access vlan 5

!