cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Local VLANs and VoIP

jtillman11
Level 1
Level 1

I'm currently studying for the CCNP Switch exam and am on the topic of local VLANs. It is recommended by Cisco to not span a VLAN across multiple switches but rather create local VLANs per access-switch/IDF. I understand how this helps with convergence and loop prevention, using L3 routing instead of relying on STP for redundant links, but it seems like it would be a nightmare for VoIP. I must be missing something.

localvlans.JPG

So phones in different areas around the building (wherever your access layer switches are), would be on different subnets. Not only that, they would be on subnets different than the VoIP server itself. Is this really preferred over having all phones on their own (same) VLAN? The same applies to WAPs and a WLC. The WAPs around the building would be on different subnets from each other AND the controller. I just want to make sure I am understanding this correctly.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

"Most (if not all) L3 switches route using hardware, not software."

Yes, for the data traffic. A route link loss, though, is generally a control plane (i.e. software) function. Routed ECMP "fastness" often has most to do with software being notified of an interface drop. If that doesn't happen, by default, half your traffic might be routed to a "black hole" until the IGP times detects the path failure (often for multiple seconds).

BTW, for L2 with stack's or VSS or VPC, their Etherchannel link drop detection was invisible to STP, which incidentally if using a "fast" STP variant, on a small L2 topology, is often quick enough that a "hit" might not drop a VoIP connection.

Network designs often entails trade-offs in cost vs. potential impact of a hardware failure. For VoIP, if you don't break the connection for more than a quarter to half second, that's often "good enough".