Views
Helpful
Replies

Luis Apodaca

luis.apodaca
Level 1
Level 1

hi guys i am a rookie in CCNA and still learning

i just have one question before do a maze with my Switch Catalyst 3750, can i do more than one ip route for a same vlan, and i meant the whole network, something like this;

# ip route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 192.168.18.250 /// Main Server
# ip route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 192.168.18.18 //// backup server

i need to set up a gateway like a backup service, in case the main server goes down, both of them are Virtual machines but in diferents physical server, the entire network point to the main server (sophos UTM 9) this one is my gateway, and firewall

the second one (ClearOS 7) is just for have internet service, no more than that, i dont care if we dont have firewall and all those service, is only for have time for work with the main one and do some support, about 30 min and we will be fine

all is fine but the physical servers are to old and we had crashes before, so we need to have an another for the users can keep working during the crashes

thanks in advance and best regards.

26 Replies 26

i was reading my last post and i thougt i was clearer But, on second thought, I do not think so. when i said

" The 2 ISPs are managed by the UTM and the nat is done mostly by the interface of the Primary ISP, only access to our School platform has Nat through the 2 ISPs at the same time, the secondary ISP interface is in Standby mode , Waiting for the first one fail in some how "

in all that, I was talking about interfaces in the UTM Sophos server ! all is managed by the UTM, i have not any kindn of nat in any other device, in the future i want the secondary server do the same job, but for now i only need to made a transparent gateway

¿would you mind to check if the config in the Catalyst 3750 i posted is correct for do this?, if it is, then i can forget the switch and go to the second server and focus on it

thanks and regards.

Thank you Luis