cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Managed Switch and Router for Home use

FSoto
Level 1
Level 1

I am currently studying for the CCNA exam and have a small lab built with two 3750 switches and three 2851 routers. I want to add another used router and switch. What would be a good model router capable of handling at least 200mb from my cable modem with all the bells and whistles running?  My budget for both router and switch is $800 dollars.  The switch preferred gigabit ports. 

Thanks,

Ferdinand

Ferdinand

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Here are your smallest options on models that still have modern software being developed for them and support current features, all of which are significantly more than $800:

- Cisco 4331

- Cisco 3925E

- Possibly Cisco 1111-08, new to me and don't know much about it

If you do care about noise level and most current feature sets, you can get a used Cisco 7200VXR with NPE-G2 and VSA module.  It is end-of-life and end-of-support, so wouldn't use this in production.   You can find one with all of those components for under $500, but be prepared for serious noise... 

View solution in original post

7 Replies 7

Hi,

You could verify with the models 2921 or +

>> Marcar como útil o contestado, si la respuesta resolvió la duda, esto ayuda a futuras consultas de otros miembros de la comunidad. <<

Thanks for the recommendation, unfortunately that router does not meet my requirements. The wan circuit speed is rated at 50 Mbps per the Cisco Integrated Services Routers—Performance Overview. I need 200 Mbs minimum. I found a similar post to mine and a recommendation was the  ASR1002. It is a little more expensive than what I want to spend, however if I sell my current router and switch then I could buy it. Is there another router that would be a little cheaper than the ASR that can handle wan throughput of 200mb?

Thanks for the help.